Call for Papers

Updated: 9 Mar, 2021

Aims and Scope

The International Conference on Algorithms and Complexity is intended to provide a forum for researchers working in all aspects of computational complexity and the use, design, analysis and experimentation of efficient algorithms and data structures.


Papers presenting original research in the areas of algorithms and complexity are sought, including (but not limited to):

  • sequential, parallel and distributed algorithms and data structures
  • approximation and randomized algorithms
  • graph algorithms and graph drawing
  • on-line and streaming algorithms
  • analysis of algorithms and computational complexity
  • algorithm engineering
  • web algorithms
  • exact and parameterized computation
  • algorithmic game theory
  • computational biology
  • foundations of communication networks
  • computational geometry
  • discrete optimization


Invited Speakers

  • Henning Fernau, Trier University, Germany
  • Katharina Huber, University of East Anglia, UK
  • Seffi Naor, Technion Haifa, Israel


The conference proceedings will be published by Springer-Verlag in the ARCoSS/LNCS series and will be available for distribution at the conference. Accepted papers will be allocated 12 pages total in the LNCS format in the proceedings. More information about the LNCS format can be found on the author instructions page of Springer-Verlag.

Special Issue

The authors of selected papers will be invited to submit an extended version of their paper for possible publication on a special issue of Theoretical Computer Science devoted to CIAC 2021.

Best Paper Award

There will be a CIAC 2021 Best Paper Award, accompanied by a prize of EUR 1,000 offered by Springer.

Important dates

  • Deadline for submission: October 31 November 05, 2020, 23:59 AoΕ Extended
  • Deadline for uploading new versions of already submitted papers: November 6 November 10, 2020, AoE Extended
  • Notification of acceptance: December 22, 2020
  • Final manuscript, camera ready: January 31, 2021


Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract of at most 12 pages by October 31, 23:59 AoE.

Uploading updated versions of already submitted papers will be allowed until November 6, 23:59 AoE

Submissions are handled by EasyChair at the following web

All submissions will be rigorously peer-reviewed and evaluated on the basis of the quality of their contribution, originality, soundness, and significance.

Simultaneous submission of papers to any other conference with proceedings published or made publicly available, or submitting papers previously accepted for journal publication is not allowed.

Submission Format: An extended abstract submitted to CIAC 2021 should start with the title of the paper, each author’s name, affiliation and e-mail address, followed by a one-paragraph summary of the results to be presented. This should then be followed by a technical exposition of the main ideas and techniques used to achieve these results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. The extended abstract should not exceed 12 pages total in the LNCS format. Note: References/Bibliography will not be counted as part of the 12 pages; figures and tables will be counted.  If the authors believe that more details are essential to substantiate the claims of the paper, they may include a clearly marked appendix (with no space limit) that will be read at the discretion of the Program Committee. It is strongly recommended that submissions adhere to the specified format and length. Submissions that are clearly too long may be rejected immediately.

Program Committee

Cristina Bazgan, Univ. Paris Dauphine, France
Tiziana Calamoneri (Chair), Sapienza Univ. of Rome, Italy
Jianer Chen, Texas A&M Univ. College Station, USA
Thomas Erlebach, Univ. of Leicester, UK
Guillaume Fertin, Nantes Univ., France
Jiří Fiala, Charles Univ., Czech Republic
Peter Damaschke, Chalmers Univ., Sweden
Paola Flocchini, Univ. of Ottawa, Canada
Dimitris Fotakis, NTU Athens, Greece
Paolo Franciosa, Sapienza Univ. of Rome, Italy
Leszek Antoni Gąsieniec, Univ. of Liverpool, UK
Mordecai Golin, Hong Kong Univ. Kowloon, Hong Kong
Jan Kratochvíl, Charles Univ., Czech Republic
Vadim Lozin, Univ. of Worwick, UK
Bodo Manthey, Twente Univ. Enschede, The Netherlands
Marios Mavronicolas, Univ. of Cyprus Nicosia, Cyprus
Cécile Murat, Dauphine Univ. Paris, France
Gaia Nicosia, Roma Tre Univ., Italy
Hirotaka Ono, Nagoya Univ., Japan
Maurizio Patrignani, Roma Tre Univ., Italy
Tomasz Radzik, King’s College London, UK
Laura Sanità Univ. of Waterloo, Canada
Charles Semple, Canterbury Univ. Christchurch, New Zealand
Blerina Sinaimeri, Univ. Lyon I – INRIA, France
Csaba D. Tóth, California State Univ. Northridge, USA
Luca Trevisan, Bocconi Univ. Milan, Italy
Ryuhei Uehara, JAIST, Japan

Organizing Committee

Federico Corò (Publicity), Sapienza Univ. of Rome, Italy
Anna Philippou (Co-chair), Univ. of Cyprus, Cyprus
Chryssis Georgiou (Co-chair), Univ. of Cyprus, Cyprus

Steering Committee

Giorgio Ausiello, Sapienza Univ. of Rome, Italy
Pinar Heggernes, Univ. of Bergen, Norway
Vangelis Paschos, Univ. Paris-Dauphine, France
Rossella Petreschi, Sapienza Univ. of Rome, Italy
Peter Widmayer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland